Remember: The Peace of God

Photo by Funchye - Flickr

“And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:7

This day, we remember.

This day, let the peace of God guard our hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.

The following has been inspired by the many thoughts that surround the events and memories of 9/11, some edifying quotes I’ve stumbled upon, and our pastor’s message on Philippians 4:4-9.

Ten years later. Are we changed?

Are we characterized by the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, or by worry and fear? The aim of terrorists is to instill fear. The aim of the Gospel is to inspire peace–true and lasting peace.

According to Philippians 4:4-9, peace comes through praise, prayer, purity, and practice.

“Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, Rejoice. Let your reasonableness be known to everyone.”

In the worst of times we have the best of God to rejoice in!

Then you are a child of God this evening.  God is your Father.  No change of circumstances can ever rob you of that.  Even if by loss, you are brought to poverty and stripped bare, you can still say,’God is my Father.  In my Father’s house are many rooms, therefore I will not be troubled’.  You have another permanent blessing, namely the love of Jesus Christ.  He Who is God and man loves you with all the strength of His affectionate nature:  nothing can effect that. …. Our best portion and richest heritage we cannot lose.  Charles Spurgeon

“The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God,which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

In times of trouble, do we seek God first, and do we seek God more than the answer(s) to our prayers? These are questions my heart has pondered much lately. The answer stays the same. God wants all of us to want Him more than anything else!

Dr. Jack Hayford, experienced pastor and hymn writer has written that if we are in the middle of a bad day, we should aim our questions at God first, not man.  He said this because even though counselors may analyze and friends may empathsize, they still have finite minds.  He finishes by saying that when we really hurt, “we truly cry for God Himself, not answers”.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.”

What have we been meditating on? The following quote has greatly encouraged me to switch my thoughts to purer, lovelier, more praiseworthy things. Posting this quote for your edification is so much easier than putting it to practice, but practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you (and me!).

“But I do know that in our times of deepest affliction, none of us find comfort by endlessly focusing on that suffering.  There is an element of mystery in all our suffering and in this life we can’t fully understand it. Yet there is the subtle temptation to relive and review our suffering.  That is an excercise that will never bring rest and release.  What will bring rest and release is spending more time meditating on the Cross and the God of the Cross.”  C.J.Mahaney (from his book The Cross Centered Life)

Perhaps we fear that redirecting our thoughts could cause us to forget or grow callous. I don’t think that’s why we have these verses. Redirecting out thoughts to lovelier and purer things like Christ and the Gospel, actually helps us to remember them better and without fear. (2 Timothy 1:7) Can we look at the reality of our brokenness and see the beauty of Christ and His promise of peace. (John 14:27)

___

I was hoping to post today’s sermon but it has not yet been released. I will keep checking my church’s website often in hopes of blessing you with it soon. And you can now find it here!

The above quotes were found at Susanstudy’s Blog.

Thank you for your time and visit!

“The God of peace be with you all. Amen.” ~Romans 15:33

11 thoughts on “Remember: The Peace of God

  1. “In times of trouble, do we seek God first, and do we seek God more than the answer(s) to our prayers?” Great question, which I think applies to all times, whether we face trouble or not, God wants us to seek Him first. May we seek Him and find that blessed peace in Him alone. Bless you Petra!

  2. Your question immediately brought to mind a song from my Catholic childhood…Seek ye first, the kingdom of God; and His righteousness. And all these things will be added unto you…I don’t remember the rest.

    It’s been difficult for me today to not feel an overbearing sense of sadness. I have no personal connection to the attacks, other than my personal experience of watching it from my television while clutching my babies. The only sense I can make of that day took me a long while to understand. I don’t understand why it happened. I don’t have to understand why. It’s not my plan. It’s His plan. I’m comforted by the verse from Job 8:21…He will yet fill our mouths with laughter and our lips with shouts of joy. In spite of all that has happened, there will one day be joy.

    Thank you for the reminder to praise Him, Petra. It’s exactly what I needed to ‘hear’.

  3. I confess my own fears of redirecting my thoughts are that God won’t think my trials are important enough if I don’t throw a tantrum. Which is pathetically silly. :P In our physical world, “the squeaky wheel gets the grease,” but God doesn’t need us to be whining and complaining to understand our needs. I loved the quote from Mahaney! It’s another timely post, Petra; thanks! :)

  4. “Redirecting out thoughts to lovelier and purer things like Christ and the Gospel, actually helps us to remember them better and without fear.”

    Good words, Petra.

  5. Great post Petra. I listened to a podcast by Alistair Begg today on suffering and he said that suffering drives us towards God. It has it’s purpose in the lives of believers. We do need to seek answers first from God not men. He is the only one who has the wisdom and the answers we need when we confront, fear, suffering or any calamity. As always, wonderful to read these words.

  6. Dear Petra, Thank you for stopping by my blog today. There are no mistakes with the Lord and I found much peace in reading your blog this day. I am so very glad to have met you. Blessings, Catherine xo

  7. Dearest Petra, Thanks for keeping me At Peace–along with God and Jesus, my savior and my daughter who lives in Oregon. We share each thing each day: our Bible readings; her tales and talks of Bible Study. She lives in a little place in Srague River, Oregon. I will share “Mountains of doubt fall trembling at the feet of her mustard seed faith—etc. We recently finished dis scussions on grumgling, complaining, etc, to be replaced with prayer, This so works, works WORKS SO WELL. Notice the face in the clouds in the pic by funchye – Flicker. He is God (the cloud face) I search the clouds for faces of God and photo with my cell phone. I love you Petra.When we read the Bible (mydaughter and i I We find Peace and Love. So glad I found you on your blog. As soon as Adonna gets a computer, you will be on her blog

    • Thank you, Miki. I’m glad that Jesus is keeping you at peace and that He is blessing you with such a loving daughter. His Word, through His Spirit, is the gateway to His heart and truth. It is the safest place to be. And yes, you are right, prayer is better than grumbling. Gratitude is better than complaining! Blessings!

Thank you for your visit and comments!

